Bundt Pan Window Box

I dragged a coat rack home from a neighbour's curb on the walk home from work one evening. Shortly thereafter I realized why it had been put by the curb. It tilted in the middle and the screw was stripped

I dragged a coat rack home from a neighbour’s curb on the walk home from work one evening. Shortly thereafter I realized why it had been put by the curb. It tilted in the middle and the screw was stripped

So I left it in the covered courtyard holding sunhats.

So I left it in the covered courtyard holding sunhats.

a few weeks later I found this bright blue and white bundt pan at a thrift store ...

a few weeks later I found this bright blue and white bundt pan at a thrift store …

I took the coat rack apart and gave the bottom a distressed white paint job. I get a lot of paint from the city's recycling program. People can drop off paint leftover from a project (instead of putting in a landfill) and residents can drop by during certain days and help themselves to whatever paint is then available. Fortunately for me there is a lot of white latex. Last summer I got 5 boxes of plaster of paris for $1 each at a thrift store, and quickly learned how to make my own chalk paint.

I took the coat rack apart and gave the bottom a distressed white paint job. I get a lot of paint from the city’s recycling program. People can drop off paint leftover from a project (instead of putting in a landfill) and residents can drop by during certain days and help themselves to whatever paint is then available. Fortunately for me there is a lot of white latex. Last summer I got 5 boxes of plaster of paris for $1 each at a thrift store, and quickly learned how to make my own chalk paint.

I had drainage holes drilled into the bottom of the bundt pan

I had drainage holes drilled into the bottom of the bundt pan

I live a half mile from the Pacific Ocean so nautical colours are always a hit.

I live a half mile from the Pacific Ocean so nautical colours are always a hit.

blue and white pansies and ivy are a great combination and will be bright and cheerful outside my bedroom window.

blue and white pansies and ivy are a great combination and will be bright and cheerful outside my bedroom window.

bright and cheerful

Sitting inside on my bed watching me take photos and wishing I was filling the bundt pan with birdseed instead of pansies.

Sitting inside on my bed watching me take photos and wishing I was filling the bundt pan with birdseed instead of pansies.

$3 windowbox

4 thoughts on “Bundt Pan Window Box

Leave a Reply

