Thinking Outside the Mailbox

New VIP Party Button-001Since I was a small child I have loved mailboxes. While many people associate them with bills and junk mail to me they are the portals that bring birthday and Christmas cards and letters from friends and loved ones around the world. Oh, those handwritten letters with handwriting as distinct and personal as a person’s fingerprints.  I have an entire board dedicated to them on Pinterest which contains a number of original photographs I contributed.

Here in Canada, Canada Post is phasing out house-to-house delivery of mail and replacing them with group mailboxes at the entrance to developments or the end of streets. I’m not ready to say goodbye to my beloved mailbox, and with every repurposing project involving mailboxes it is becoming clear that my beloved mailboxes can remain part of our abodes.

My neighbour Fiona has a gorgeous Edwardian-style mailbox and allowed me to play with it.

My neighbour Fiona has a gorgeous Edwardian-style mailbox and allowed me to play with it.

 This summer I rescued this lovely rusted blue mailbox from a rural roadside where it lay on the edge of a ditch, stuffed with faded , rotting newspapers

This summer I rescued this lovely rusted blue mailbox from a rural roadside where it lay on the edge of a ditch, stuffed with faded , rotting newspapers

Decorating mailboxes can be an alternative to wreaths for greeting guests or seasonal décor.

Decorating mailboxes can be an alternative to wreaths for greeting guests or seasonal décor.

2014 Mailbox Planter

Leave a Reply

