Garden Lights

The chimney of an antique oil lamp as planter creates a pretty and whimsical table centrepiece

The chimney of an antique oil lamp as planter creates a pretty and whimsical table centrepiece

New VIP Party Button-001

 I used a piece of modern porch lantern to create a

I used a piece of modern porch lantern to create a “pot” on one side of this antique whale oil lamp.

There is a huge trend these days to create funky lights – hanging lights, table or floor lamps) from all manner of repurposed items. Conversely, parts of dismantled lights or lamps can be repurposed into an infinite number of things.

In my case, light parts get a new lease on life in my junk garden.

This metal lamp base was left over after I dismantled a lamp for another project. It's been kicking around for more than a year.

This metal lamp base was left over after I dismantled a lamp for another project. It’s been kicking around for more than a year.

the metal base had a hole in the middle where wiring originally ran. It was the right size to slide onto an old wooden sofa leg for support and stability, with lots of room still for drainage.

the metal base had a hole in the middle where wiring originally ran. It was the right size to slide onto an old wooden sofa leg for support and stability, with lots of room still for drainage.

Like the lamp base, I have four of these sofa legs that have been waiting for me to find them a new purpose.

Like the lamp base, I have four of these sofa legs that have been waiting for me to find them a new purpose.

The sofa leg has a large screw in the middle that slides perfectly into the hole in the lamp base.

The sofa leg has a large screw in the middle that slides perfectly into the hole in the lamp base.

This large glass ceiling light cover was a roadside rescue. Eventually it will become a bird bath, but recently I was looking for a décor piece for an event and it got to make its first appearance as a planter.

This large glass ceiling light cover was a roadside rescue. Eventually it will become a bird bath, but recently I was looking for a décor piece for an event and it got to make its first appearance as a planter.

This light porcelain base was chipped and cracked, but only on one side, so I could turn those to the fence.

This light porcelain base was chipped and cracked, but only on one side, so I could turn those to the fence.

I have to be careful with watering, because I didn't want to drill holes into the light cover. All this has for drainage is a shallow layer of rocks.

I have to be careful with watering, because I didn’t want to drill holes into the light cover. All this has for drainage is a shallow layer of rocks.

In 2014 I took this pretty vintage lamp shade out to the garden where it covered the ugly plastic flower pot holding a pretty pink begonia.

In 2014 I took this pretty vintage lamp shade out to the garden where it covered the ugly plastic flower pot holding a pretty pink begonia.

A few weeks ago I wanted a very feminine looking planter for a shower. The lamp shade looked very pretty on top of a lace adorned flower pot.

A few weeks ago I wanted a very feminine looking planter for a shower. The lamp shade looked very pretty on top of a lace adorned flower pot.

This pretty white candle holder is the upcycled base of a lamp painted with homemade white chalkpaint.

This pretty white candle holder is the upcycled base of a lamp painted with homemade white chalkpaint.

Carlene at Organized Clutter has posted a fun tutorial on adding height to your garden. I don't really have enough room for ladders, but I do love putting plant pots on pedestals like this rusty metal lamp base. I just removed the wiring.

Carlene at Organized Clutter has posted a fun tutorial on adding height to your garden. I don’t really have enough room for ladders, but I do love putting plant pots on pedestals like this rusty metal lamp base. I just removed the wiring.

the lamp base was the perfect size to slide into the centre hole of a bundt pan.

the lamp base was the perfect size to slide into the centre hole of a bundt pan.

Leave a Reply

