Thinking Thanksgiving

Each year when we would be preparing for Canadian Thanksgiving in mid-October, my Oregonian uncle would joke “You folks never did get that timing right, did you?” However, on those occasions when his visits corresponded with our Thanksgiving celebrations, he never turned down the extra turkey dinner.

From a decorating perspective, it means that Canadians plan for Thanksgiving before Hallowe’en. Not much, but before. October is a busy month, so I’ve started planning in September.

 #repurpose #upcycle #vintage #Thanksgiving #Autumn #horn of plenty

I began by turning my antique car horn from a wreath into a Horn-of-Plenty

  I wanted to create an upcycled autumn planter, so I took the “Rosemary” tag off it’s stake and used Marine Gloop (awesome stuff) to attach it to an antique flower sifter. There are so many plants that invoke thoughts of Thanksgiving dinner, and Rosemary tops my list.

#flour sifter #antique #holidays #celebrations #vintage gardening #container gardening #salvage #Rosemary

#flour sifter #antique #holidays #celebrations #vintage gardening #container gardening #salvage #Rosemary

#salvage #succulents #succulent decor

#salvage #succulents #succulent décor

I added a scrumptiously rusty dish overflowing with succulents

 #upcycled clock #repurposed clock #roadside rescue

#upcycled clock #repurposed clock #roadside rescue

I found this non-working modern clock in a curbside give-away pile. Initially I thought I would just paint it and turn it into a photo frame.

 #repurposed bundt pan #vintage gardening #wreath

#repurposed bundt pan #vintage gardening #wreath

As I was cleaning up my container garden I saw a new role for my vintage tulip-shaped bundt pan. I had used it in this vignette, but unlike some of my bundt pans I didn’t want to permanently alter this little sweetie by drilling drainage holes. Today I was very grateful I hadn’t.

#Rustoleum #salvage

#Rustoleum #salvage

I grabbed a can of Rustoleum rust coloured spray paint and gave the entire clock – glass and all – a couple of healthy coats. As I was doing so I had an idea for a Christmas project, so I just used my hot glue gun to make a temporary Thanksgiving buffet wreath.

#Thanksgiving Wreath #Bundt Pan Wreath #Junk Wreath #Salvage Wreath

#Thanksgiving Wreath #Bundt Pan Wreath #Junk Wreath #Salvage Wreath

I love the worn paint rim around the base of the bundt pan; almost as much as I love its

 #antique potato masher

#antique potato masher

Nothing says the holidays like a heaping bowl of steaming potatoes mashed with fresh cream and big chunk of farm fresh butter puddling on top. An antique brooch adds a bit of bling to my Thanksgiving décor.

 #antique bread board #antique butter bowl

#antique bread board #antique butter bowl

#antique butter pats #antique pine bread board

#antique butter pats #antique pine bread board

#antique pine butter pats

#antique pine butter pats

 in antique flower frogs

in antique flower frogs

scalloped edge.

Sharing

http://www.funkyjunkinteriors.net/2015/09/pj-297-an-upcycled-link-party.html

New VIP Party Button-001

vintage charm button 2

2 thoughts on “Thinking Thanksgiving

Leave a Reply

