Cottage Garden Birdhouse

I bought this birdhouse as part of a package deal I negotiated at a friend’s antique store. It was anything but antique, and looked a bit stark and uninspiring. But I thought could do something about that. I used some wood filler to create a bit of texture around the entrance holes. Then I gave it a couple of coats of homemade chalk paint (3 parts recycled paint, 1 part plaster of paris).  I dragged out some paper I bought at a loonie store for lining drawers. The colour was perfect for where I wanted to take this project.

 I tore off several pieces of different sizes and used Modge Podge to apply. Once thoroughly dried I sanded the paper and the edges of the wood, and a few other select places to create a vintage distressed look.

Then I made my own tinted was, using Minwax clear and a 1/2 tsp of coloured craft paint, which I applied to select parts of the birdhouse. I used clear wax on the rest of the piece.

Sharing

http://www.funkyjunkinteriors.net/2015/09/pj-297-an-upcycled-link-party.html

Share Your Style

DC header

KKpartylogosmallHome Sweet Home FridayNew VIP Party Button-001

7 thoughts on “Cottage Garden Birdhouse

    • Hi Audra. Thank you for your kind words. I am working on another birdhouse right now that I got out of a huge garbage pile left after a house was demolished. It was in very rough shape and is no longer habitable, but I think it’s going to be a great garden décor item. Will hopefully post tomorrow.

      Like

    • Thank you, Jann. It was intended as a gift, but I am going to have a hard time giving it up. I love the effect so much I’m trying to incorporate it into a headboard I’m working on. Fingers crossed!

      Like

Leave a Reply

