Wall Clock to Hanging Planter

 Walking home from work a week ago I passed a house that was being gutted in preparation for remodelling. On a big pile of garbage was a funky reproduction wall clock.  It was filthy dirty and had a few sharp nails sticking out here and there, but I saw the potential.  It’s fully modern and it’s clockworks are the cheap plastic battery operated kind.   But I loved it at first sight.

 I took it home and gave it a good scrubbing.  I didn’t worry about the cheapo clockworks getting wet because I had no intention of restoring it to a working clock.

I dragged out my homemade white chalk paint and gave it a couple of good coats.   The lines of the clock were pretty enough on their own, but I wanted to add a bit of embellishment.   I have a little grapevine wreath that I have used oh so many times, and I was delighted when it fit the clockface perfectly.  It has been many colours,  some of which now peek softly through the white paint.

  I wanted to make it into a wall planter, and figuring out how to do that was the hardest part of the project. I played with baskets and various types of wire and screening. I finally settled on this lace embellished burlap that I glued on using Marine Goop. It is strong and pretty, and will allow for drainage.  Then I stuffed the little pocket with end-of-summer white flowers (sweet alyssum, pansies and Alaskan daisies that rebloomed once we finally started getting a bit of rain. That pocket could also be used to hold wedding or Christmas cards.

Sharing

http://www.funkyjunkinteriors.net/2015/09/pj-297-an-upcycled-link-party.html

Share Your Style

KKpartylogosmall

Home Sweet Home Friday

DC header

New VIP Party Button-001

vintage charm button 2Show and Share - Tuesday

11 thoughts on “Wall Clock to Hanging Planter

    • Thank you, Audra. I tried a lot of different potential planters, I was just about to go in search of some chickenwire and strip moss when I picked up the roll of burlap. A friend has convinced me to try to get the clock working.

      Like

  1. Donna, it is darling! The clock has such beautiful lines and I love how you turned it into a planter! Thanks for sharing with SYC. I will be featuring you this week.
    hugs,
    Jann

    Like

  2. Oh my gosh, I love it! I would have painted it white, too:) SO clever to make it into a planter ~ great repurpose, and oh so pretty, too! Thanks for linking up to our Vintage Charm Party! Can’t wait to see what you have in store for this week’s party! xoKathleen

    Like

Leave a Reply

