Brass Firedog Shelf

Recently I was taking photos for my uncle’s antique auction (Kenpassmoreappraisals.wordpress.com)

  I wanted a little shelf to showcase a couple of pieces and this pair of brass firedogs almost leapt into my hands. A lot of homes have firedogs in the attics, their original utility having been virtually eliminated. A traditional winter décor piece in want of creative repurposing! I picked up a piece of old lumber at the side of a fishing shack and voila. I love contrast, like the rustic soft piece of lumber against the warm, hard finery of the brass firedogs.  This would be a perfect way to display some desserts at an autumn tea I’m planning.

Leave a Reply

