Thanksgiving Sign from Repurposed Antique Mirror

  I bought this antique mirror from a neighbour’s moving sale. The frame is quite badly damaged. That was great. I would have no regrets about painting it.

 I wanted to make a sign, so I painted the whole thing, not just the frame. I used white homemade chalk paint. The Plaster of Paris helps the paint adhere well even to the glass. Two coats did the job.

  I used this paper on a birdhouse I refinished and loved the result. And since I have so much of it, I hauled it again.

 I tore off strips of the paper and modge podged them onto the sign, both glass and frame.

  I distressed the sign (did I mention that I lettered onto the glass the words Give thanks). I distressed the paper heavily using coarse sand paper.  Frequently sanding right through the paper, giving the look age would produce.

Thanksgiving Sign

Thanksgiving Sign from Antique Mirror

Thanksgiving Sign from Antique Mirror

Shared on:

vintage charm button 2

Make-it-Pretty-Post-Button

Share Your Cup Thursday

 

Share-It-Link-Party-Button-705x464

PartyButtoncollage2

Sundays-at-Home-Featured-thoughtsfromalice

PI-8pm

GardenPartyButton2

7 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Sign from Repurposed Antique Mirror

    • Thank you, thank you, thank you. I am so excited to learn about your link party. You are right We are such a good fit. I’ve just spent an hour drooling over all the other posts. So many amazing contributors! We are going to have such fun together!

      Like

  1. I love this idea!! You did a wonderful job! Just one question. Is the plaster of paris in the chalk paint or did you put that on first and then paint over it? Thank you.

    Like

    • Thank you so much! The Plaster of Paris is what makes it “chalk” paint. And a little advice from the movie Edward Scissorhands: “blend, blend, blend…blending is the secret.”

      Like

    • Thank you, Jann. I thought it might be appreciated by your followers! And if your enthusiasm is any indication… here’s hoping!

      Like

  2. Pingback: DIY Junk Thanksgiving Cards | Adventures In Junking

Leave a comment