Putting on the Green

My family are Protestant (Methodists), but we came to North America from Armagh (sounds “Arm-ah”), the town and county in Northern Ireland where St Patrick lived while on the emerald Isle.

Leprechaun Hat Porch Bell

While I’m a 5th generation North American, my family is proud of our Irish heritage and look forward to St. Patrick’s Day each year.  We are two months away from corned beef and cabbage, but the preparations have begun.  Throughout history, Ireland has been a country of modest economic means, and I believe my passion for junking was  passed down to me by my grandmother and to her from hers.

My St Paddy’s preparations began with a terracotta plant pot that I left in the garden over winter, where it had produced a lovely multi-shades of green moss coat. I made this Leprechaun hat into a porch bell by adding an antique potato masher for a clanger.

Even in the mild climate of Southwestern British Columbia it is too early to leave shamrocks outside overnight.  But my new boots look a little like Leprechaun shoes so I had to try a shamrock fitting.

 This terracotta pot became a Leprechaun hat with a little craft paint and a “where the heck did this come from” back of the closet black belt. Cost for this seasonal porch décor $0.  The fun of celebrating St. Patrick’s Day – priceless.

I’ll be sharing at:

Talk-of-the-Town-button-Knick-of-Time

PartyButtoncollage2

 

2 thoughts on “Putting on the Green

  1. Donna, these are great St. Patrick’s Day decorations! Once again you are so clever! I haven’t even been able to think about that yet! Thanks for linking up over at Vintage Charm. Hope to see you again next week! xoKathleen Charm Bracelet Diva {At Home}

    Liked by 1 person

    • I thought of you, my Irish sister, the whole time I was playing with this. I have some more Irish projects to come – I treated myself to a little touch of Irish culture for Christmas and I’m trying to hold off until March, but I’m so excited I may not succeed.

      Like

Leave a Reply

