Beached Porch

What do you do with a driftwood plank? Make a nautical sign, of course!

And of course that naturally leads to redecorating the porch. Of course!

BeachsignA

As those of you of shared creative temperament will understand, sometimes inspiration hits at 2:00 a.m. when craft and stationery stores aren’t open.

I had some stencil letters from a community project but the spacing of the individual cards didn’t fit the wood, so I used chalk to trace the letters onto some scrap (black) paper in the recycle bin, cut the letters out and spaced them on the wood and then traced the letters once again.

BeachsignA1

Then I used a paintbrush and homemade chalk paint to fill in the letters. To make those stand out against the pale blue  background paint and old dripped white oil paint, I used a Sharpie to trace the outline of each letter.

BeachSignA2.jpg

Then I sanded the letters to give them a distressed look similar to the wood.

BeachsignA3.jpg

Then I gave it a couple of coats of fast drying polyurethane.

It looked fine, but really was in want of some kind of embellishment. Which had to be free – or darn close to it.

The real fun came in when I spied a dog chew toy I had purchased from a bargain bin ($1.50 CDN – so about $1.00 US). All of a sudden I realized that it was a perfect nautical knot.

Beachsignknot

I used all kinds of white paint remains that I had on hand (from craft paint to spray paint) to alter the texture and colour a bit. Then glued it to the sign using both my hot glue gun and E6000 (more weather proof).

Then I bashed it about a little to make it look aged similar to the wood.

Beach sign 3

Then I pulled together some nautical-type items and got to playing.

Beach 6.jpg

beach sign 5

Beach sign 4

Confession: that fabulous LLBean beach bag doesn’t belong to me. A friend was walking by with it just as I was about to lift my camera.  It just works, doesn’t it!

Sharing:

Snickerdoodle-Create-Bake-Make-Party-Button-1

vintage charm button 2

4 thoughts on “Beached Porch

    • Thank you so much, Lori! I checked out your linkparty and I will become a regular. I’ve been a little lax about posting this summer – family stuff. But I’m ramping back up and next Sunday I will be sharing on your site.
      Although I noted you already have 200 AWESOME posts, so I’m going to have to get busy if I’m going to hold my own with your posters! Great to connect.

      Like

Leave a Reply

