Autumn Teacup Wreath

I just couldn’t stand to see these antique Royal Albert Crown China (Devonshire Lace pattern – 1930s) teacups thrown away – even though they had cracks on their insides.

Hydrangeateacupfall2016-1a.png

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

They were a Craigslist freebie – the ad said if no one replied by that evening they were going in the trash. I couldn’t bear the thought.

Among other considerations, these types of dishes cannot go in our recycling bins. They go to landfill.  No way!

hydrangeateacupfall2016-2

So I gathered some autumn rust coloured hydrangeas (yes – I cheated and added a couple of Dahlias for filler because I temporarily ran out of hydrangeas and have to wait for more to start to dry – too hard to handle when they are fresh fresh) from the garden and made a teacup wreath.

But you get the idea.  Not including the harvest and drying of hydrangeas, this project took a whopping 15 minutes to make and cost nothing (I used a grapevine wreath that I had on hand. I bought 3 for 75 cents at a yard sale a year and a half ago but I have used them several times already).

Sharing:

vintage charm button 2

tuesday cuppa tea button

Talk-of-the-Town-button-Knick-of-Time

letstalkvint

35ee33d17bfeb3e35cd5532dca848e6a

vintage-wednesday-diy-by-design

waw_button

8 thoughts on “Autumn Teacup Wreath

    • In this “simplification” fad going on, there is a cost. People are just sweeping from their spaces everything they don’t have immediate use for. And they tend to sweep it into landfills. That is soooo wasteful. Meanwhile, someone is going out to buy an autumn wreath and creating a consumption pattern that draws resources from an earth that can scarcely afford them… I’m not anti-business. Quite the opposite. I believe we need to be much smarter about how and what we consume. And the whole point of this blog – and I suspect yours, Sandi, is to show how fun and creative it is.

      Like

Leave a Reply

