Junk Gardening 2015

Canada Post is quickly moving away from home delivery of mail and toward group mailboxes that people go to to get their mail. Mailboxes  - both on houses and rural roadside - will soon be icons of a bygone time. Fortunately, both kinds make charming planters.

Canada Post is quickly moving away from home delivery of mail and toward group mailboxes that people go to to get their mail. Mailboxes – both on houses and rural roadside – will soon be icons of a bygone time. Fortunately, both kinds make charming planters.

 

unnamed-8

wheelbarrow planter

Farmhouse-Friday-Knick-of-Time-500

Vintage-Inspiration-Party-Featured-link-party-button-300x300 Vintage-Inspiration-Party-Featured-link-party-button-300x300

GardenPartyButton2

I love my perennials, like the day lilies, dianthus, lavender - but mixing in annuals like the petunias and pansies ensures there is always something in bloom.

I love my perennials, like the day lilies, dianthus, lavender – but mixing in annuals like the petunias and pansies ensures there is always something in bloom.

Mailbox on garden bench

Container Gardening

Everyone of these planters was a roadside rescue.

Everyone of these planters was a roadside rescue.

Wonderfully rusty old rural mailbox planter

My uncle is one of BC’s most prominent antique dealers. I was a passenger in his vehicle when we drove past this mailbox that was almost covered with roadside weeds and was full of rotting newspapers. But I come by my love of rustic honestly, so when I pleaded with him to turn around and drive back so I could rescue it he didn’t hesitate for a second.

About 17 years ago I went to a local antique auction to deliver some papers for my uncle. As I walked in the door a pair of these lovely cottage kitchen chairs were going up for bid.  10 minutes later I was paying for them.  The family friend I delivered the papers to later told my uncle

About 17 years ago I went to a local antique auction to deliver some papers for my uncle. As I walked in the door a pair of these lovely cottage kitchen chairs were going up for bid. 10 minutes later I was paying for them. The family friend I delivered the papers to later told my uncle “there were only 2 real antiques at the auction and she bought them.” They were solid black – not from paint, but most likely from soot from sitting in front of the wood stove or fireplace. Sadly, this one was broken by horrible movers a couple of years ago, so it’s new home is in the garden.

I like variety in a garden - even a container garden.  Different colours, shapes, textures - and height.  This birdcage isn't old. I bought it last year at a local supermarket, of all things, but it was well built and a good reproduction. And it gives a nice bit of height variety.

I like variety in a garden – even a container garden. Different colours, shapes, textures – and height. This birdcage isn’t old. I bought it last year at a local supermarket, of all things, but it was well built and a good reproduction. And it gives a nice bit of height variety.

I have wanted a trumpet planter for some time, but it had to be an instrument that was beyond repair - and didn't cost a fortune. I had all but given up when I found this little sweetie in my local thrift shop - just $20 bucks.

I have wanted a trumpet planter for some time, but it had to be an instrument that was beyond repair – and didn’t cost a fortune. I had all but given up when I found this little sweetie in my local thrift shop – just $20 bucks.

Antique chair planter

14 thoughts on “Junk Gardening 2015

    • Thanks, Cecilia – I was just reading your mother’s day post. My mother died when I was 10, and died on Mother’s Day (yes, I know – brutal), so I got a huge lump in my throat reading your ever-so-sweet tribute your mom. Considering how young she was when she had you, she obviously did an amazing job raising you!

      Like

  1. My Canadian friends won’t be getting mail at the side of the road any more? This is a little sad. But you’ll still have the internet, so that’s great. I love your mailbox planter!!

    Like

    • Funny, Kirby – there are still lots of places getting home delivery, but the change is happening crazy fast. Thanks for stopping by (check out the kitchen garden post – I’m having waaay too much fun!).

      Like

    • Awwww, you’re absolutely right. He is the sweetest guy alive! He raised me, so I think he recogninzes he’s at least somewhat responsible for my appetite for antiques and junk.

      Like

    • Thanks, Jen – Craigslist is full of free pianos. Unfortunately, I rent so that is not an option for me, but yeah…. One of my favorite repurposes is an upright piano turned into a fountain on the edge of a very lush garden pond…. it’s on pinterest somewhere – but I suspect it’s on one of the big name repurposing blogs. Just gorgeous. Do you blog?

      Like

  2. Pingback: Vintage Inspiration Party - Handmade Signs, Garden Decor and More! - Knick of Time

  3. Pingback: Mailbox to Shop Sign | Adventures In Junking

Leave a comment